Wisconsin Public TelevisionWisconsin Public Radio
Sunday, April 20, 2014

Jennifer Shilling

Candidate For State Senate 32

Jennifer Shilling

Candidate Background


Shilling for Senate
PO Box 1261
La Crosse, WI 54602-1261

Phone Number: 
Email Address: 

Candidate Biography

From candidate Website

Jennifer Shilling lives in La Crosse with her husband Chris, and sons Nathan and Zachary. She has been an active member of the La Crosse community since she was a student at UW-La Crosse. She served as a La Crosse County Supervisor and was first elected to the State Assembly in 2000. In 2011, she won a special election and is currently serving in her first term as a State Senator.
Jennifer currently serves as a member of the Legislature’s Joint Committee on Finance which is responsible for crafting the state's biennial budget and reviewing state appropriations. She also serves on the Committee on Economic Development, Veterans and Military Affairs, the Committee on Agriculture, Forestry, and Higher Education, and the Committee on Public Health, Human Services, and Revenue.
Jennifer continues to be actively involved with many local organizations including the UW-La Crosse Alumni Association Board of Directors, the UW- La Crosse Chancellor’s Community Council, the Viterbo University Board of Advisors, the Family and Children’s Center Community Board, La Crosse Area Dental Care Advocacy Coalition, the La Crosse County League of Women Voters, and the United Way.
Jennifer is the proud recipient of numerous legislative and community awards, including:

  • 2011 Friend of Housing Award from the Wisconsin Builders Association
  • 2011 Wisconsin Dental Association Dental Academy Award
  • 2010 Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters Conservation Champion Award
  • 2010 La Crosse Area Development Corporation Triangle of Achievement Award
  • 2010 UW-La Crosse Student Association Advocate of the Year Award
  • 2010 Wisconsin Counties Association Friend of County Government Award
  • 2010 Ken Kolb Great Kids Start With You Award
  • 2009 UW-La Crosse Alumni Association Rada Distinguished Alumni Award
  • 2009 Cancer Control Champion Award from the Wisconsin Cancer Council
  • 2007 Wisconsin Dental Association President's Award of Honor
  • 2007 Independent Living Legislative Advocacy Award
  • 2006 Friend of Agriculture Award from the Wisconsin Farm Bureau
  • 2007 Independent Living Legislative Advocacy Award
  • 2006 La Crosse County Conservation Alliance Outstanding Leadership in Conservation Award
  • 2006 Gaylord Nelson Human Services Award from the Wisconsin Community Action Program Association
  • 2006 Scales of Justice Award from the State Bar Association
  • 2004 YWCA Outstanding Government Achievement Award
  • 2003 Phi Delta Kappa Education Award for Lay Contributor of the Year
  • 2003 Domestic Violence Diva Award from the Wisconsin Coalition Against Domestic Violence