Kevin Petersen Incumbent

Kevin Petersen

Candidate for Assembly District 40

Candidate Information

  • Party: Republican
  • Address: N1433 Drivas Road, Waupaca, WI 54981
  • Email: [email protected]

Candidate Biography

Kevin David Petersen was born Dec. 14, 1964 in Waupaca. He graduated from Waupaca High School in 1983 and acquired a BS in mechanical engineering from the University of New Mexico in 1989. Having joined the United States Navy in 1984, he remained on active duty until 1994. Entering as an enlisted nuclear reactor operator, he was commissioned an officer in 1989. Returning to Naval Nuclear Power School, he became qualified as a nuclear engineering watch officer. In 1990, he married Michelle. Their two daughters are Nicole and Kaylee. From 1991 to 1994, he served on board the USS Key West (SSN 722), a fast attack nuclear submarine. It was during this time he earned his submarine warfare officer (dolphins) and engineer qualifications. After leaving active duty in 1994, his duty continued in the Navy Reserves. He subsequently held two command billets and three executive officer billets, retiring in 2008 at the rank of commander. Besides being a full time legislator, Kevin co‐owns Dave’s Electronic Repair Inc., a family-run consumer electronics business established in 1976. Kevin participates in the community as a life member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 1037, life member of the American Veterans Post 1887, as a member of the American Legion Post 161, and United States Submarine Veterans Inc. He is a member of the Waupaca County Republican Party, Waushara County Republican Party, National Rifle Association, and is a former member of the Waupaca Area Fire and Rescue. Currently, he serves as chairman on the Assembly Committee on Insurance and co-chairs the Joint Committee on Information Policy and Technology. Kevin also serves as a member of the Assembly Committees on Energy and Utilities, Health, Financial Institutions, and Ways and Means. First elected to the Assembly in November 2006, he won re-election in 2008, 2010, 2012, and 2014.

Source: From Legislature website